- The MyGolfSpy Newsletter
- Posts
- 🚨BREAKING: Sam's Club Golf Ball!
🚨BREAKING: Sam's Club Golf Ball!

Hi Golfer,
This one is bound to get some strong opinions. What are the best feeling irons you’ve ever hit? If you walk around the office, a lot of our staffers are in love with Srixon … some still side with Mizuno.
Srixon irons feel better than Mizunos.
Thanks for coming to my TED Talk.
— MYGOLFSPY (@MyGolfSpy)
4:31 PM • Feb 18, 2025
As for me, the best feeling irons I’ve hit this year are the new 3D printed COBRA irons. They’re severely underrated IMO.
FIRST LOOK
Sam’s Club Golf Ball
The Costco Killer?
Costco’s biggest rival finally has a golf ball. Sam’s Club just released a new 3-piece urethan golf ball at an nearly unbeatable price point. We’ve got the scoop.
READ REPORT

OPINION
Top 10 Masters Concession Items
Do you agree?
With the Masters on the horizon, we’ve decided to put together a list of our favorite food items from the tournament. Do you agree with our take?
SEE LIST

BUYER’S GUIDE
Most Expensive vs Least Expensive Cart Bags
Tested and reviewed.
Is the most expensive cart bag truly worth it? Or, for the same price, could you outfit your entire foursome with cart bags instead? Let's take a closer look.
READ MORE

INSTRUCTION
Chipping vs Putting
4 times when it makes sense.
Sometimes, the wiser decision is to leave the putter in the bag. Here are four scenarios where chipping instead of putting is the better choice.
READ MORE

SPY TIPS
Do you know the rule?
Think you know the rules of golf inside and out? We thought so too. But a recent dust-up over the 14-club rule has us scratching our heads – and it might have you doing the same.
Turns out, even some pros have been caught out by this seemingly simple regulation. And if they can get it wrong, what about the rest of us? This week, we're diving into the specifics of Rule 4.1b – the one about how many clubs you can actually carry in your bag. It's not just about counting to 14, there's some nuance you might be missing.
The rule itself seems straightforward: you can't have more than 14 clubs in your bag during a round. But where things get tricky is how that rule is applied. For instance, did you know that if you start a round with 15 clubs, even if you realize it on the first tee and immediately remove one, you're still penalized? It's a two-stroke penalty for each hole played with the excess club, maxing out at four strokes. Ouch.
And what about accidentally breaking a club during the round? Good news: you're allowed to continue using it, or even have it repaired. But you can't replace it with another club. That would put you over the limit. This also applies to clubs that become damaged and are no longer usable. You can't replace the damaged club.
The R&A and USGA have clarified these interpretations, emphasizing the importance of knowing not just the number of clubs, but the specific circumstances around them. It's more than just counting to 14; it's about understanding the intricacies of the rule.
Stay tuned for more rules deep dives and other gear-related goodness. We’re here to keep you informed (and out of the penalty box).

INSTRUCTION
Left vs Right Miss off the Tee
How to fix it
For most golfers, missing the fairway is more common than hitting it. Ask a right-handed golfer about their biggest struggle off the tee and many will say the slice. Every year, golf manufacturers roll out a new draw-biased driver designed to help higher-handicap players straighten out their shots. But is the right-side miss really the most common? We took a closer look at Shot Scope data to find out.

NEWS
Your Most Read Articles of the Week

🔥HOT FORUM TOPICS
ICYMI

Written By: Tom Conroy and Connor Lindeman
Become a smarter golfer in just 5 minutes. 🔗 Subscribe here.
Interested In Podcasts?
Check out our latest podcast here.
Get Smarter in 5 Minutes …
ADVERTISE // SHOP // VIEW WEBSITE
mygolfspy.com